top of page
  • Writer's pictureT. S. Books

This Illustration Makes Me Nervous!

 

Here we go with another illustration for "Huckleberry Pie" my upcoming children's book. In this picture, Inkcap the Raven is trying to cheer Archie the Hedgehog up because the huckleberry patch is full of greedy neighbors who won't let Archie have any huckleberries at all. Inkcap may just have the perfect solution for him!


Why am I so nervous about this painting?? I have to say, I feel a bit anxious every time I get ready to paint something new. But this illustration has really made me nervous. I think it's because I spent a long time drawing that raven (with some wonderful coaching and help from my dad) and I hate the thought that if I make a mistake, the original drawing is ruined. With an all-black subject like a raven, it's easy to make a mistake. So...I have decided to begin with the elements of this painting that I feel most comfortable with, and I'll psyche myself up to paint the raven last of all. I might even paint a mini raven on a piece of scrap paper just as a practice run before I get started.

Here is my painting's background and foliage nearly finished! Originally, I hadn't planned to put so much detail in the foreground, but it just seemed to need it. For some reason, I enjoyed painting that clover more than I've enjoyed painting anything else! Next, I'll paint the big yarrow flower to the left, then the rocks in the foreground, Archie the Hedgehog, and last of all, Mr. Inkcap the Raven. I'm praying that the Lord will help me not to blunder!


Until next time, take care!

bottom of page